I think that Fontaine and Hunter brilliantly revealed collaboration through the two scenarios- "listening to others and being influenced on what you hear" and "making choices when you enter a conversation." Whether the collaboration is through actual writing or not, these circumstances illustrate the ways that people use each other to share information and construct new knowledge. They also discuss ways in which writing is dialogic and instrumental in a collaborative setting. Fontaine and Hunter suggest that writing is always collaborative because "language by its very nature engages an individual in a conversation."(8)


 In this class so far, we have used collaboration through offering feedback via commenting on blog posts, tweeting, and in class. The collaborative research assignment and oral history project will provide more opportunities for us to collaborative through writing and research among our groups and with others.


 I love Rowan's Writing Arts Department Objectives in regards to collaborative writing. Practically all of my writing courses have either centered around or involved this in some way. Providing opportunities for
workshops, group projects, and group/class critiques embraces collaborative
writing and the benefits it offers for writers. I'm a very social person and I
greatly respect and appreciate whatever ideas, suggestions, or criticism that 
 others offer. I have learned a lot from my classmates at Rowan through
collaborative writing and will definitely use it often when I become a
teacher.



Jennifer Eisenstein
4/3/2012 01:33:55 am

I agree with Kelly when she talks about the collaboration that I've done at Rowan. Group work, workshops, etc. have definitely helped me to become a better writer. When I am a teacher, I will incoprate collaboration as much as I can into my classroom because I truly believe that students can learn a lot from their peers.

Reply



Leave a Reply.